587,202 active members*
2,853 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > Questions and advice for a new Sherline owner

Questions and advice for a new Sherline owner

Hello everyone this is my first post here and I have a few questions if anyone can help.

1. What model is this Sherline, it was made in Aug of 84’?
    2. What stepper motors are these?
    3. Can you use stepper motors as a power feed? I have never used a metal lathe before and I don’t think that I want to take the time to set up the CNC and learn how to operate it. If you can use the stepper motors as a power feed what type of controller would I need.
    4. What books should I start looking for that would help setup, operate and maintain this Sherline lathe?
    5. I also bought the milling attachment off this guy.

Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_1181.JPG   IMG_1186.JPG  

That's the model 4000 lathe, the shorter of the two models.
    I see it has the AC motor,smaller speed controller box, single-speed pulley set, shorter crosslide, non-rocker toolpost, and the earlier style tailstock.

I think that it's a custom CNC conversion, made before Sherline offered their own CNC-ready machines, so, like my D&M-converted Sherline mill, it has the standard leadscrews with no thrust bearings.

Great little lathe, especially with the milling attachment!

I think EVERYONE should start with manual machines, and get a feel for cutting capabilities and performance, as well as dealing with things like backlash and deflection. Too often I've seen new guys jump right into machining with CNC, and then start blaming the machine, the tooling, and the material for every problem...

What tooling do you have?
    How many wires are coming out of those steppers?