587,419 active members*
2,996 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Need directions.

Hello All,
    First just want to say that I am loving this site. I have learned so much from reading the threads here that I am having a hard time decideing on a design for my own cnc router.

I have been researching DIY CNC for almost 2 years and have read everything that I could find about the subject. This site has been the most rewarding.

About six months ago I started buying and collecting parts to start my build. I have collected bearings, Probotix steppers with all the associated electronics, a spare PC, and misc. other pieces and parts. So I am about ready to go. (If I can remember where I put it all)

My question here is this. Can someone direct me to a build thread that throughly documents the electronics portion of the build? I have read dozens of threads on the design and build of the machine and have learned from each, but I would really like to see how some of you have made things move.

Thanks,

If I were you I would post what electronics you have, from there you may request help in determining what you need to know.

Good Luck

"All the associated electronics" in your first message indicates you have already made the decision about the controllers for the steppers and a break out board. This profound choice to a large degree dictates how they are wired up, also to a lesser degree determined by the software you are using (e.g., Mach 3, charge pumps, etc.) and the extent of limit, home, and e-stop switches you want use. Contact the vendor of the stepper controllers (drivers) for a wiring diagram if you don't already have one. If you are using Mach 3, download and study the installation manual - it is very thorough.