588,288 active members*
4,893 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

One way to end up with a Taig...

Hello everyone,
    I'm new to the machining/CNC community. I've always been fascinated with how things are made. I work on and build mini motorcycles as a hobby so after buying and seeing how expensive certain companies charge for billet this and that, I looked into making my own. On top of that, I had some ideas of my own so here I am today. Easier said than done, but I have to start somewhere.

I was shopping for mills and saw a used Taig. After hemming and hawwing about the price, I decided to go with the X1 since the "price was right" at $150. I was a beginner so it'll do. It can't be that bad right?

I went to see the used X1 and it seemed fine when I saw it at the seller's house. I needed new XYZ handwheels and some cleaning. When I brought it home, I noticed it was still using the packing grease as lubrication. I started taking it apart and cleaning everything. I reoiled everything with motor oil and tried adjusting the gibs (one had a gouge in it). Adjusting the gibs was difficult to get correct. It was either too loose or too tight. The further I cleaned it the more regretful I became. I found that the bracket that holds the gears in the gearbox was not original and was a bent piece of metal that sorta held the gears in alignment. The Z axis fine feed wheel sorta worked and when I looked in the end of the part, it looked worn out like a phillip screw when the screw is too tight and you strip the cross area. Then I was looked in the package of the broken wheels and found the original part, but it was welded back. Upon installation of the repaired part, it broke. Yes it's only $10 for a new piece but just the time and money I would need to get it running. Plus I needed to spend another $30+ getting new handwheels.