588,362 active members*
7,806 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

All Aluminium Build

Well it’s been nearly four years since I started to look at building my own machine, my interest started because I was looking for an alternative to using chemicals for making printed circuit boards, after finding a home built CNC controlled PCB engraver on Ebay I started searching and soon found CNCZONE.

After reading a lot of the threads I started to design my own machine using Autocad, because my initial interest was PCB’s I was only looking to build a small machine , I started to acquire various bits, the first being three Gecko 210 stepper drivers and three Nema 34 stepper motors.

Fortunately for me (or unfortunately depending which way you look at it) I work in a factory which uses quite a bit of automation and over a period of time I have acquired a lot of very lightly used ball screw assemblies, linear rail and carriages and aluminium extrusion which has dictated the final size of my machine.

I built all the electrical/electronics first. My power supply is home built giving me around 50 volts dc to power my steppers and capable of delivering around 16 amps. Although I have had my machine running it is still very much work in progress, I have purchased a MPG, a small PLC with MODBUS capability to give me more I/O.

Anyway that’s enough of me babbling on, as they say a picture paints a thousand words here are a few photo’s, I have also taken some video of it cutting a sign for work nothing exciting.

Specs of the machine:-

X Axis 680mm
    Y Axis 680mm
    Z Axis 220mm

5mm Pitch Ball Screws On All Axis

Hiwin 25mm Rails And Carriages on Y and Z Axis

Hiwin 30mm Rails And Carriages on The X Axis

Gecko 210 Stepper Drivers

3Nm Stepper Motors On All Axis

CNC4PC 11T BOB And the C10

2.2kW Water Cooled Spindle ( one of the Chinese ones)

Mach 3