586,584 active members*
2,651 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

lathe project

hey all!

i have a cnc x3 and have a lot of parts that i can do on my x3, but would be easier to do on a cnc lathe. I'm a unemployed high school student, so i can't justify spending $1,100 on a 10x22 then converting that. But i had the thought to build a lathe with the x3. I want it to be quite rigid, but not too big(not physical size as much as travel). I had the thought that for now, i will not be running both machines at the same time so just transferring the x and y steppers and my 1hp 3phase motor over to the lathe will be fine. Then using a different(lathe) profile for the lathe(mach3). The only question i have about this as i would want this lathe to thread is the indexing situation might get a little complicated won't it? maybe not. This literally takes out more then half the cost of the lathe which makes it so practical. my budget for the whole thing is quite low, since i would rather put more money into my main horse(x3). I was thinking around $500. I have already ordered some parts, 19" long linear ways(they arn't too bulky, the blocks are thk rsr20's i believe) for the z and will buy some 15" linear ways for the x. Thats about $175. I was going to do roton's for the x and y axis with double nuts on each. i have double nuts on my x3(x,z) and like it. I ordered a 8x12 lathe with bearings for $50 from harborfreight, it will take ~ 2 months to get here though. I will probably replace the bearings.