586,071 active members*
3,941 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Am I making an OK choice?

First off Hello everyone this is my first post.

I have been looking for a benchtop mill to do some aluminum work, but in the future hope to get into making what ever my mind can imagine and my hands will allow. I have a guy that is selling a Rong-fu RF-30, He said I can have it for 600.00 along with everything in the picture, besides all the bits/cutters. for everything He'll take 800.00. I have read mixed feelings about benchtop mills for one, then round colums, then "Harbor Fright" etc, What are your thoughts on this setup? I won't be doing anything major, just starting a hobby.

I'm not an expert by any means, but here's my $0.02.

Although i've seen some mills that are round column doing cnc, i've hear that it is definatley not the best idea. You are better off with some sort of square column mill.

Depending on what your overall budget is, i'd consider looking at either an X3 or an X4 mill. They are decent machines in the 400-600lb range. If you want something bigger and beefier, consider on of the RF40's I think. Look up Hoss' thread on his new machine. That thing is rigid and capable of doing steel. The X3 and X4 can do aluminum quite nicely, and some steel as well.

I have a Syil Super X3 that is CNC'd and I love it. I have made MANY nice parts on it. There is definately some tweaking to be done on one of the X3 or X4's, but it's totally worth it for a really great machine.

Wade

Smile

This could be a good deal if the machine is in fairly new condition.
    Also the additonal Toolholders Cutters may easily be worth that.
    I own a similar Type Mill and it cuts Steel, Aluminum, Brass etc., very resonably.
    This Machine has a far greater Working envelop as a X3, just dose not compare.