586,075 active members*
3,967 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Help with CNC for inlay

Hi All,

I'm going to get my hands on a small CNC machine soon, so I'm trying to get up to speed. I'm new to CNC, but I was a software developer for many years. At one point I wrote embedded software for controlling large flatbed plotters, stitchers and a general 3 axis controller that used to be sold by Data Technology.

At present I'm doing custom inlay on guitars for a local guitar builder, so once I get the machine up and running I'd like to cut some inlays from shell, wood, metal and other materials and rout the cavities. I do have many years of 3D modelling experience but sadly on Lightwave3D. I know how to make purdy near-photorealistic (and mostly useless) images:

Since I haven't even seen the machine yet, I'm concentrating on understanding the general software requirements.

I know I need some sort of CAD package to make my models for 3D stuff. Maybe I can convert Lightwave output, but I'd eventually like to move to something like Rhino. Though perhaps there's a way to use DXF's exported out of Adobe Illustrator for 2D things like inlays?

I have no idea what to get for a CAM program or machine controller. Does anyone have any suggestions for software to get up and running doing inlays? I'll save the 3D stuff for later. Though I guess a radiused fretboard cavity is actually 3D.

I'd also love to hear anyone's experiences cutting inlays, particularly dealing with shell.

Thanks,
    Athena

I use Mach 3 for my controller, and Vectric Aspire for Cad and Cam

You can get a Lightwave .stl export plugin from the Chrome Cow website that will allow you to machine Lightwave models.

For doing inlays, any 2D CAD program will export the needed .dxf's. Illustrator may work, but I've heard it's .dxf files are not always that good.

A good cheap 2D CAM package for the inlays would be Vectric's Cut2D. Their more expensive package have an automatic inlay function.
    Gerry