586,060 active members*
3,494 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Solidworks to Mach3

I'm new to CNC and my first machine is in progress (I'm waiting to the electronics).

I hope someone can help me.
    How to convert a file of component which designed in Solidworks to a file which "Mach3" can read and work with?

I read that Mach3 software is very popular. Also, I understand that the computer is translating Gcode and send it to the controller.

thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by spaltiel View Post
    I'm new to CNC and my first machine is in progress (I'm waiting to the electronics).

I hope someone can help me.
    How to convert a file of component which designed in Solidworks to a file which "Mach3" can read and work with?

I read that Mach3 software is very popular. Also, I understand that the computer is translating Gcode and send it to the controller.

thanks in advance
    You need another piece of software, a CAM package. You can get plugins to SolidWorks for this (CAMWorks, SolidCAM, FeatureCAM, etc), or you can use third party programs (CAMBAM, BobCAD/CAM, etc.). What's your budget? It will cost from free to tens of thousands of dollars (for a 5-axis CAM package).

Quote Originally Posted by mcphill View Post
    You need another piece of software, a CAM package. You can get plugins to SolidWorks for this (CAMWorks, SolidCAM, FeatureCAM, etc), or you can use third party programs (CAMBAM, BobCAD/CAM, etc.). What's your budget? It will cost from free to tens of thousands of dollars (for a 5-axis CAM package).

My budget is very short. Can you please recommend of a software which is free? BTW I am willing to convert 3D components.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html