586,441 active members*
3,756 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

V23 3D carving

Here is what I have done

I set my top of part at 0.75(wood thickness), and set my cut depth at 0.125
    I zeroed my Z axis on the machine tabletop and then regenerated my toolpath in Mach 3.

I started the cycle and it cut 1/2 in deep instead of the 0.125
    What am I doing wrong

On another note, I zeroed the Z ontop of the wood and regenerated the toolpath and started the cycle and it did not reach the wood, it looked like it was 3/4 to high, I have zeroed it out on the table top to onetime and it did not touch the wood when the cycle started.

Could some please explain to me the process when you edit the toolpath, most of my material will be .75 thick, Do I set the top of part to my wood thickness? and then zero out the tool tip on the tabletop. I am new to this does the V23 take into account the overall length of the bit, if so how far should I put the bit into the collet and should I measure what is left sticking out from the collet to the tool tip. This stuff is driving me crazy, I have the training videos and one some of the 3D machining they leave the top of part at 0.000 when they edit the tool path and one others it looks like they set it for the material thickness.

When I create my stock, it ask for length and width but not thickness, I see to the left of this it has the x,y and z origin, what goes in there?

what control are u using it sounds like you might have a tool offset issue

sorry just re read your post mach 3
    do you have your tool offset on

Quote Originally Posted by csmoak25 View Post
    I set my top of part at 0.75(wood thickness), and set my cut depth at 0.125
    I zeroed my Z axis on the machine tabletop and then regenerated my toolpath in Mach 3.

I started the cycle and it cut 1/2 in deep instead of the 0.125
    What am I doing wrong