586,067 active members*
4,961 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Stepper motor kits for me requirements?
Page 1 of 2 12

Stepper motor kits for me requirements?

Hi, I'm a newb. My first post here.

I've built a CNC mill, a combo of MDF and extruded aluminum. Running on v-groove bearings. Table is 3' wide X 6' long, with a 6" Z axis.

It's home built, so it won't be perfect, but seems very smooth so far.

I'll be cutting hardwood and some aluminum.

I was looking at the hobbyCNC kits, and after emailing them got the response that their systems are not appropriate for my machine. Now I'm lost because that means I need to do a whoooollleee lot more learning, or come to you guys that know this stuff and ask if you have any recommendations for an all in one kit.

I've been reading the forums for a while now, and I know you guys are passionate about it, but frankly I just want to use it. Knowing which model # gives me that extra 1% is more then I need or want to know.

So, with that any ideas? have I given enough information?

Thanks

I checked out that hobycnc site and while their kit may not have been optimal for you I cannot imagine it would not have worked at all.

Here are some plug it in and go setups they most likely won't turn you away from buying:
    http://www.super-tech.com/root/itm.a...m-emc-geckopwr

Now if you want to make a more informed decision reading this may help:

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/attach...4&d=1107010394

TANFL you get out what you put in.

Thanks for the reply. The super-tech link is sum $2000.00 more then the hobbyCNC, there in lies the problem I guess?

How about something like this? http://www.kelinginc.net/CNCNEMA23Package.html

I tried to do a little research about just who, or what Keling is and never really came up with any satisfactory answers. For me the real question isn't so much how but what?

This left me a bit sour: