586,655 active members*
3,115 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Newbie question: how do I machine this? (Drawing attached)
Page 1 of 2 12

Newbie question: how do I machine this? (Drawing attached)

I need to make a router mouting plate for a cnc router table I'm putting together. I'm new to machining, but have an Enco benchtop mill (RF-30 clone). I can handle the straight cuts, drilling the small holes, etc, but my question is about the large (3" diam") hole I need in the center of the part... How could I go about getting this done w/ my mill? I'm not opposed to buying tooling (I'm slowly stocking up, although I know I can't afford a rotary table), I just dont know what I'd need...

Any help appreciated.

Aegeon

Here are a couple of suggestions....

Drill a starter hole with the largest drill you have then,

using an adjustable boring head, take a series of cuts until you open up the hole to the size needed - boring heads can be purchased from Enco farily reasonable in price. I bought one of the really cheap ones and it has been working fine.

You could make a fly cutter ( a round tool holder that can hold a 1/4" tool bit (the kind used on manual lathes - usually HSS). Then bore a hole, move out the tool bit a little, bore again, just like with the boring bar, but less accurate to some degree.

A hole saw may also work, but I don't think using a 3" hole saw will give you a 3" hole accurate enough - you would still need to finish bore it - so use an undersize hole saw to create your rough hole.

Hope this helps a bit!
    Chris

Quote Originally Posted by Aegeon