586,051 active members*
3,590 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Looking to buy some electronics

I'm a newb and still not sure exactly of the finer details of my machine (still lots of reading to do) but I've got some cash handy and thought I'd buy an electronics kit for my build before it burns a hole in my pocket and gets spent on something else. At least that way I'm committed to build the machine, and it will give me a chance to play with it and get it working while I do the build.

I'm not exactly sure what I need, mostly just basing my opinion on what others are using and what's popular. My needs/wants are:

- 2'x4' capacity so I can accept a 1/4 sheet 'handy panel'
    - wood will include MDF, BB ply, and some hardwoods
    - Acrylic and polycarbonate up to 1/2" thick
    - I'd like to do a little aluminum work if the machine ends up stiff enough, which will probably include making faceplates for various projects and modifying heatsinks
    - This is a big maybe but I'd also like to do a little copper. This would be for water blocks for computers. Required tolerances here are actually pretty loose. The flat side will be finished by hand any way and top side will have a rubber seal. And if I get rough cuts on the innards it may actually help .
    - PCB's
    - speed isn't much of a concern since this is a hobby not production

Other than that the only other decisions I've penciled in are I'll probably use rack and pinion for the x and y and 1/2" acme for the z. I have a Bosch Colt that is not getting much use otherwise so that is planned to go in this machine. This is what I'm considering at the moment and if I buy it there I can also get the R&P parts too saving on shipping... always a concern since I live in Canada.

I'd like to hear opinions on that CNCRP kit, or if I should be looking at something else - and why. If I've left out any important info let me know and I'll try to answer as best I can, but take it easy on the new guy!