586,096 active members*
3,158 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

FLA vs Joes 2006

I'd be curious whether someone could compare/contrast the Fine Line Automation versus another table-sized machine like Joe's 2006 or even the Hybrid (when equipped with similar electronics). Living in a humid part of the country, the aluminum construction has a great appeal for stability in the works, but whether that appeal is borne-out in real world use is another question.

Thanks!

(Expected materials are hardwood plywood and some aluminum, if that matters)

Bear5k,

It's difficult to compare wooden machines with aluminum because the materials are very different. It is a general conclusion that the machine will not cut reliably any materials that are harder than ones it is built from. So a wooden machine will not be able to cut plastics and metals with good quality.

I have no experience with wooden machines, but I'm pretty confident they won't be very precise. My guess is 1mm - 0.5mm at best. For cutting wood that is enough though.
    With aluminum based machine you can get tolerances up to 0.1mm or sometimes even better. With steel (and good design) - 0.05mm or even 0.01mm.

As you see, this really depends on what you need and how much you can spend (both money and time) on your machine.

My DIY CNC router plans at www.8020CNC.com
    My DIY CNC router plans at www.8020CNC.com

I have no experience with wooden machines, but I'm pretty confident they won't be very precise. My guess is 1mm - 0.5mm at best. For cutting wood that is enough though.
    First of all, I happen to be a woodworker, and .5mm is not close enough for wood. Not for me, anyway. Maybe .1mm, but much more than that will leave visible gaps, which is unacceptable in high quality work.

And second, there are plenty of wooden machines that are accurate and repeatable to .1mm.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset