586,121 active members*
3,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Bandit Revival ?

Hi Guys

I have an old Bandit controller that is left over from when I upgraded my mill. I have seen where some of the parts form the Bandit controller have been reused for an other project. The steppers , power supply, the axis drivers, a breakout board and either Mach 3 or EMC . I would like to find someone that can help sort all this out. I have a working 3 axis CNC so I could make some parts in return for the help I get. I am not a electrician but understand the basics. I am 50 miles north of Charlotte NC if you were in the area that it a little easier but not a necessity. In case you are wondering what the project is, it is a saw for cutting 4 pool cue shafts at one time. I have most of the mechanical parts just looking for some help with the electronics

Thanks Gary

Hallelujah brotha, can I get an "Amen" for the Bandit. He has come to see the error of his ways and now wants to become a Bandit fo' the Lord. Amen! Hallelujah! There will come a day when the good Lord will raise us all from the dead, and the Bandit will be as one of us. Hallelujah. But in this life, no man can raise the dead and so we let the Bandit rest. Amen!

First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

I'll you and "Amen". I cut my teeth on a Bandit. It had a whooping 160 K program memory.

Are you sure about stepper? All the ones I used had DC servos.

Karl

Programing manual

I have the programming manual in "electronic"format if needed.

I have most of the mechanical parts just looking for some help with the electronics

Thanks Gary [/QUOTE]

I have a full set of manuals for the bandit if you want to pursue this.
    I obtained a Shizouka mill with a bandit controller and was under the delusion that it was still workable.