586,094 active members*
4,177 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Disadvantages of 2 start vs. 5 start?

Disadvantages of 2 start vs. 5 start?

In the designing stages of my machine, it'll probably end up looking similar to joe's 2006 with 2'x4' cutting area.

Since I'm in Canada I'm having a hard time finding 1/2"-10 5 start threaded rod. I've looked at getting up from the U.S. but the shipping charges really get up there. A local place that I like to deal with does have 2 start though for a very nice price. I need it for X,Y, and Z so (very approximate) 5', 3', and 1' pieces

I'm a newb but AFAIK 5 start is better then single start since it doesn't have to spin as fast - reducing whipping, allows the stepper to turn slower where they have more torque, and can be more efficient in power transfer. But I've read that although there's a 5:1 ratio in the pitch you don't get 5x the speed. Speed isn't really critical but I don't wan't to be getting frustrated with the 'slowness' either.

So where does 2 start fall inbetween the two? Is there a still a huge difference getting the 5 start over the 2? I'd hate to 'settle' on the 2 start and curse the machine everytime I use it for not going for the 5. But going with the (local) 2 start will probably save me over $100 and a lot of trouble.

[edit] a couple of additions,

#1. for got to mention that I plan on CNCRP's kit for the electronics
    #2. it would appear the stuff from the local guy is only standard grad stuff, not the precision that I was looking at at mcmaster carr... but I don't know what ill effects that would have

[/edit]

Hi Biff