586,089 active members*
3,745 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

My futur Wood and metal Shop (Pics)

Hi, just would like to share with others the construction of my dedicated woodworking shop and since I'm a 25 years experience as a CNC machinist, my metal working shop.

This is a 24 X 36 shop.

This will be for my lathe, My 6X4 Aluminum CNC router and a futur CNC mill and all my woodworking equipments.

Concrete will be poor this week, walls and trusses are due within 2 weeks.

Hope the pictures will upload, had some problems with them.

Will keep updating as soon as work progress.

Jeff
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PICT0140-1.gif   PICT0142-1.gif   PICT0151-1.gif   PICT0154-1.gif  

PICT0158-1.gif   PICT0162-1.gif   PICT0165-1.gif   PICT0172-1.gif  

PICT0177-1.gif   PICT0180-1.gif   PICT0185-1.gif   PICT0186-1.gif  

PICT0189-1.gif   PICT0192-1.gif   PICT0193-1.gif   PICT0196-1.gif  

PICT0204-1.gif  

Just an update
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PICT0214-1.gif   PICT0218-1.gif   PICT0223-1.gif   PICT0229-1.gif  

PICT0232-1.gif  

You should cinder-block up the walls to about 40 inches, and then use a 2x8 sub-plate to cover the tops. This will give you 11'6" ceilings. Way better for woodworking (swinging large boards around) and dust collection systems, and lighting.

Or not. I did, and I am way happy with it

Hi, thanks for your comment.

This is easier and a lot cheaper for me to order 10 feet walls.

Walls and trusses are already ordered for a 10 feet high ceiling.

Should be here in a couple of weeks.

Jeff

Why didn't you pour a footing?

Paul

pouring a real footing would have cost a lot more.

The concrete slab is 5 inches thick and 12 inches thick for the first 2 feet around it so this is some kind of a footing.

The concrete slab alone cost $5000.00 and concrete alone cost more than $3000.00.

Plus the wire mesh, steel rod, thermo foild, 4 truck load of gravel, excavation, compacting, polishing.