586,655 active members*
3,608 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question OiM cutting feedrate problem

I am relatively new to machining and am having problems getting with the programmed feed rate. If I post more than one tool such as a roughing pass and then a finishing pass the second tool (and all following tools if there are other sequences) runs at roughly 65 to 70% of the programmed feed rate. The control displays the called feedrate as it is programmed, but the actual feed rate is reduced just like you turned the feed override knob down. If anyone knows what needs cancelled or changed after the first tool sequence I would greatly appreciate the help! My control is a Fanuc OiM control and it is on a 2004 Hardinge VMC 1250II.

It sounds like your finishing tool paths are not being processed quickly enough and your controller is adjusting the feedrate to suit.

You need to look at what options you have purchased with the controller regarding 'look ahead' modes/commands.

Search this site for info on AICC or G5 or G8 settings/parameters.

You could also alter the tool path style off-line to improve feedrates.

DP

at least from 0i-mC forward G8P1 is always available and AI APC (called with G5.1 Q1) is available without option purchase...

so you should have:
    Code:
    safety code
    M6 toolchange
    before g43, use:
    G8P1
    G5.1Q1R5 (the r is optional, depends if you have aicc or nano or...)
    apply tool offset (g43)
    work offset
    start cutting
    there are limitations as to what can and can't be used in AI APC mode, particularly not rigid tapping in most cases, but read around the forum there are lots of explanations

personally i have put g8 and g5.1 inside my toolchange macros (m6)... and disable them with my rigid tapping (m29) macro... and never run into issues on the newer i-series controls... so they are always on typically

- gwarble

Found the solution