586,103 active members*
3,804 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

g0704 - conversion project

Hi -

I have been following a number of threads in the website for quite awhile and now i am finally at the point where i can make a small addition and hopefully get some feedback and pointers along the way.

I am hoping to approach my project in four phases.

1) build of control box: power supply, controls, BoB, etc.
    2) link control box to mach3 - test control box build, start mach3 config, hopefully see motors turn
    3) modification of mill: ball screws, motor mounts, limit switches, etc
    4) put everything together

So far i have acquired the following components:
    g0704 mill
    electronics from kelinginc: C11G Bob, KL-7212 PowerSupply, G201x controllers, steppers: 2 N23-495oz, 1 N34-640oz

I have very little machine experience (took a couple class at local community college). I also dont have much experience with electronics - home wiring is about the only thing i have been hands on with before this project...

Hopefully i can avoid the magic smoke i have seen referenced in a few threads...

start of control box

I got a used control box from a local electronics supply store and a power cord with ground that i am hoping to use to bring my 120v house current to my power supply. I cut the female end of the cord and used a multimeter to determine Hot, Neutral and Ground ... i think - see attached photos.

Light Blue - Hot
    Brown - Neutral
    Green/Yellow - Ground
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails analysis_of_powercord_HN.jpg   analysis_of_powercord_HG.jpg   analysis_of_powercord_NG.jpg  

Provide current to PowerSupply

KL-7212:
    I soldered the red leads together and the black leads together.

Assuming i am reading the meter correctly ...
    Leads on Blue and Brown - 120V
    Leads on Blue and G/Y - 106V
    Leads on Brown and G/Y - 20V