586,047 active members*
3,700 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Unhappy Complete newbie needs help

Hello everyone.
    I just started my adventure with cnc machining and have no idea where to start.
    I loaded simple gcode and it cuts, the only thing is, it cuts the air!.
    I know it has something to do with coordinates but like i stated before i'm a complete newbie and have no idea what relative, absolute coordinate means.
    Also, what is the actual procedure from starting the machine?
    What steps should i take to set up correct coordinates?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

P.S.
    It's a Chinese machine with Syntec controller.

home the machine

did you send the machine to its home position and/or zero out the x,y,z axis.
    also what do you know about the program your trying to run.
    do you know where the program will start running--in the middle or bottom left hand side?
    wher ever it is going to start in the program you have set the axis at zero yhat includes the z axis so the machine knows where to start cutting----it is generally the "material surface."

I sent the machine to the home position.
    The program cuts the material on the front left side, just like programmed in Vectric 2d.
    How do i zero axis?
    Should I zero absolute or relative coordinate?
    X and Y axis seems to be zeroed, the problem is with z axis.

Thank you for reply, it made one step ahead for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Rumboorack View Post
    I sent the machine to the home position.
    The program cuts the material on the front left side, just like programmed in Vectric 2d.
    How do i zero axis?
    Should I zero absolute or relative coordinate?
    X and Y axis seems to be zeroed, the problem is with z axis.

Thank you for reply, it made one step ahead for me.
    Hello,