586,096 active members*
3,709 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    290

    Machine Specific Canned Cycles

    Need a way to customize NC Plot for machine specific G codes. As an example we use G12 and G13 to cut holes all the time on our Matsuura's and need away to verify / backplot. Our Matsuura's have Yasnac i80M controls.

    Here is an example of some couterbores I just programmed in BobCAD-CAM. Every BobCAD-CAM user needs a decent backplotter AFAIC because BobCAD-CAM has nothing usable.

    N107(T7 = 1/4" END MILL)
    G8090G40G49G17G0Z0
    T7M6
    G54X2.3Y-.314S5000M3T8
    G43Z2.0H7M8
    Z.1
    G61
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X21.9
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X23.9
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z2.0
    X22.6 Y-13.69
    Z.1
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X23.6
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    Y-14.69
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X22.6
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X1.6
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X0.6
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    Y-13.69
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    X1.6
    G1Z-.25F12.0
    G13D27I.0715L2
    G0G40Z.1
    G49Z0M5
    G53Y0

    jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    765
    Jon,

    Can you tell me what the command format is for your G12/G13 blocks?

    G13D27I.0715L2

    G13 = Counterclockwise circle
    D27 = ?
    I.0715 = Radius ?
    L2 = ?

    Thanks,
    Scott

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by MetLHead
    Jon,

    Can you tell me what the command format is for your G12/G13 blocks?

    G13D27I.0715L2

    G13 = Counterclockwise circle
    D27 = ?
    I.0715 = Radius ?
    L2 = ?

    Thanks,
    Scott
    D27 = cutter compensation for tool 7

    Frequently a shop "standard" is to go 20 higher for cutter comp.

    Example:

    T1 cutter comp would be 21.

    I believe this started because height and diameter comp are held in the same register in Fanuc type controls (which are the standard of the industry even if I prefer a Haas control. :>) )

    You are correct I does equal the radius. I = X, J = Y, K = Z

    L2 = repeat the canned cycle twice. L is a very, very common command for designating how many times to repeat a canned cycle. Haas and FADAL also support the L word.

    jon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    765
    Jon,

    Hmmm.... To properly backplot this, I'll need to add support for a tool table.

    I am familiar with the L parameter, but it is usually used in conjunction with G91. Does your program repeat the G13 at the same location?

    By the way, after some checking I discovered that the G12/G13 is not hooked up as of beta 6. This will be fixed for the next beta.

    Thanks,
    Scott

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by MetLHead
    Jon,

    Hmmm.... To properly backplot this, I'll need to add support for a tool table.

    I am familiar with the L parameter, but it is usually used in conjunction with G91. Does your program repeat the G13 at the same location?

    By the way, after some checking I discovered that the G12/G13 is not hooked up as of beta 6. This will be fixed for the next beta.

    Thanks,
    Scott
    "Hmmm.... To properly backplot this, I'll need to add support for a tool table."

    Correct.

    On rereading my post I think I did a very poor job explaining what you understood anyway. The tool diameter must be figured in with the I value ( tool diameter + I x 2 = size of hole.)

    "Does your program repeat the G13 at the same location?"

    Yes.

    jon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    765
    I'll look and see what needs to be done to accomplish this.

    Thanks,
    Scott

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    290
    Scott,

    How do you feel about establishing a database inside NC Plot for specific CNC machines ?

    If you opened the API for NC Plot with something like the SAX Basic Scripting Engine the development work of making specific machine canned cycles could be shared by customers of NC Plot instead of you having to do everything.

    http://www.sax.net/activex/basic/


    jon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    765
    Jon,

    I may go in that direction for a future release, but for now I'm going to concentrate on getting this version ready for release. I think I'm at the point where I'm going to start going through everything with a fine tooth comb rather than add any more features. But that doesn't mean I won't listen to suggestions . I think you'll like the next beta, there have been some nice changes to the UI.

    Scott

Similar Threads

  1. CNC Glossary
    By cncadmin in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 09:08 PM
  2. My First CNC Machine, Mr. Chips
    By Mr.Chips in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 81
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 04:04 PM
  3. Heads Up - Article about building CNC Milling Machine
    By samualt in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-13-2005, 08:43 PM
  4. FeatureCAM Expands Product Offering with Machine Simulation
    By cncadmin in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-22-2005, 01:58 AM
  5. Incremental Canned Cycles?
    By Rekd in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-15-2003, 07:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •