586,121 active members*
3,324 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DIY CNC - Electrical Approval

Well, its been 3 years and about $3K to $4K. My 3 axis router is done. I have engraved many signs and even cut out a Gibson Explorer! This thing is pretty sweet.

I am a teacher and have taken it into the school to expose the kids to some CAD CAM and hopefully start a guitar building club.

Problem: It needs to be electrically approved to stay at school...

Questions:

a) How do I get an electrical approval in ontario
    b) Why can`t i find the ontario electrical code on E-laws
    c) What all would an inspector look for (all componets are csa approved, all componets appropriately specd relative to the load they carry)

If you have any info, let me know. This machine will be a value learning tool in the school, if I am allowed to keep it there.

-Mike

Ontario I believe is one of the few provinces that require a sticker before it is used in a commercial setting.
    A call to the local Electrical building inspector should be able to tell you who you contact.
    As for conforming, I use the NFPA pub. Electrical Standards for Industrial Machinery as a guide line.
    They may look for grounding, power disconnect & fusing and enclosure interlock, i.e. prevention of opening an enclosure with the power still on.
    There are some relaxing of the rules I believe that may not entail a sticker if it is fed with no more than 120v 1 phase.
    Also there may be other non-electrical safety issues that it may have to conform to especially in a school setting.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Hopefully you are not using this product.
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107838
    Al.

Albert E.