586,077 active members*
3,644 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > JF's 36" x 48" Solsylva build for tangential knife cutting.

JF's 36" x 48" Solsylva build for tangential knife cutting.

The main problem that I have found with CNCZone is the number of people on here who make building these things look easy. Spend enough time on this forum for example and you start to wonder how hard it could possibly be ? And down that road lies madness.

A bit of background. I'm an architecture student and I have exactly zero experience machining anything. I build models out of basswood. Actually until last night I had never even taken a drill to anything but wood.
    Long story short I run across the Solsylva stuff, I see a few examples on Youtube, I recall an experience watching one of my models get cut out on a Zund machine, and I figure I can do this. And I buy the plans.

So here's what I want to achieve. Build the rack and pinion router table with the aluminum gantry straight out of the plan book but make it cut model materials like chipboard and cardboard. This requires a knife rather than a router. (see this machine for inspiration: http://www.comagrav.com/oscillating_...ial_knife.html )
    This knife needs to rotate around its axis (parallel to z) so that's a 4th motor, size unkown. I also want to be able to swap a router on to this and create 3D contours on site models. This is a lot of routing so I want it to be fast. So some 425 oz-in steppers on x,y and z should just about do it.
    Until I figure out what motor size I need to turn the knife (not a clue but probably not big) I'm holding off on sourcing the motors.