586,545 active members*
3,138 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Quick and Easy CAM for one-off?

Quick and Easy CAM for one-off?

I am new to CNC. I have been designing a lot of parts that I'll be creating only one of, or parts that I might create a couple of, but want to proto out real fast.

I've played with a couple CAM packages, but they seem like a lot of setup. I'd like to find a CAM package that allows me to generate toolpaths quickly, but still returns good results. I realize the more complex you get, the better toolpaths you can create.

Most of the work will be 2.5D, primarly 3 axis routing. I may dabble in 3 axis milling in the near future. Some of it will be just cutting, some will 2.5d parts, some creating from raster, like photos, engraving, etc.

Please do not count price as a factor. Obviously I like cheaper, but I'm looking at all angles.

In short, I do 3axis, 2.5d work on a cnc router. I am looking for a CAM that will take my CAD drawings, and with minimal setup, output good quality to gcode.

Thanks for the insight!

I've never used this. But sounds like your interest.

http://cadem.com/camlite/camlite.htm

Karl

Easy CAM

Maybe something outside the "cad/cam box" ... KipwareM ... www.KentechInc.com

OneCNC XR Mill Professional
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks for the insight all! I'm continuing my investigation. The Cadem software looks especially interesting. =)

If you are interested in machining from raster images and virtual sculptures, you might want to take a look at VS3D. Of course, I'm a bit biased since I wrote VS3D. Here is a tutorial showing the carving of a raster image in VS3D:

http://www.designscomputed.com/vs3d/...mg_emboss.html
    Daniel Carr - President,
    Designs Computed, LLC