586,728 active members*
2,903 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cutting Tapered Column

I'm new at this and would apreciate some hints for cutting a tapered column on the Taig cnc mill (4 axis) See attached rough drawing. It's in Al about 1" diameter and 3" long.

To cut the slope I'm thinking of tilting the mill column so that the end of an an end mill will run flat but then I need to compensate the Z motion. My other option is to tilt the rotating table and raise the tailstock. The second option seems easier to program but more difficult to set up. Another option I've considered is to just run the slope with a round end mill. So what if it takes for ever - this is a hobby!

Oh, I have BobCad and Mach3. Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Column.gif  

Hello,
    It seems to me that raising the tailstock and running the Z in straight passes would be the easiest to program and might not be too difficult to set up. How much taper will it have? If the taper is too large the blank may not run too well on centers? The other thing is this setup will require turning the cylindrical blank on centers also. What are you making with this item?
    Regards,
    Wes

It's a column for a small engine.

Following your sugestion I could mount the 4th axis (with chuck) and tailstock on a plate. The whole assembly could then be raised to the correct angle (about 10 deg). Cut and flute the tapered section then lower the whole assembly to the horizontal and cut the remaining features. Probably start with it horizontal and rough cut to neasr size before cutting the taper.

Hello John,

I don't know if you have software to support doing a 4th axis rotary cutting but since you do mention having a 4th axis for your mill the other option might be to do it with the 4th axis running rotary toolpaths? Here is a link to a wrapper program to wrap toolpaths around a circumference:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90805