586,060 active members*
3,736 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

To Strip or not to Strip ?

Hello I'm new to milling I am in the process of stripping a new Super X3 prior to use.

I have been using the ArcEurotrade guide to the X3 but the Super is quite different.

Can anyone direct me to some detailed instruction of how to remove the spindle ? It's removing the quill feed I'm stuck on.

The spindle doesn't feel great but there again I don't know what to expect.

Once out of the machine it looks like you need a press to drive out the spindle & then a blind bearing puller neither of which I have. Are there any other 'proper' methods ?

I'll be running at the manufacturer's rpm and turning the handles myself.

Will a spindle strip be worthwhile ?

Thanks

Tony

if its a new machine and you are running it manual I would not even bother with the bearings, if you are trying to pull the spindle cartridge out you need to remove the return spring and cup on the left side of the head ( just use some channel locks to wiggle it off) then unbolt the crank handle and tap the small shaft left sticking out of where the return spring is and it should come out.
    There is an alignment pin under the quill DRO that will need to be removed as well, after that just loosen the quill lock bolt and slowly drop out the spindle cartridge, there is alot of info on the SX3 "upgrade bearings" which is the route I went but I am also looking for alot more RPM than stock for cnc
    If I can recall the lower is a 32907xu I went with NTN, the upper is 32006 i went with SKF and the very upper where the pulley is, is a 6006
    you either will need to make a spacer for the upper bearing as well as polish the shaft at the journal for a SLIP fit of the upper bearing
    These #'s are for the upgrade bearings the stockers are the same # for the lower but the upper has a thrust and a roller bearing
    I did mine as well as another zoners here and there is really not much too it