586,104 active members*
3,367 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > New Machine Build - Need design advice

New Machine Build - Need design advice

Hi,

I am totally new to CNC world and want to build rigid CNC primary for aluminum and steel work, sometimes wood.

So, my axis: X = 78" / Y = 39" / Z = 30-35"

I am considering dual “Skate bearing” homemade system for my Y axis.
    Can someone comment on such a design, any cons, pros?

Thanks in advance

If you are wanting to do any work in steel, you need a completely different design. A heavy duty router might be able to do some light milling in aluminum. No problem in wood, but steel? Not really. There are many reasons why.

Take a look in the forums here.

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48

That link shows routers and build logs for them. Stroll through those to see what different types of designs have been used.

Now look at mills here.
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=221

You will see that they are decidedly different designs and parameters.

Welcome aboard.
    Lee

you'll never be able to mill aluminum with a 30-35" long skate bearing Z axis, you'll probably have alot of trouble with wood even.

Why do you need that much Z travel?

Quote Originally Posted by LeeWay View Post
    No problem in wood, but steel? Not really. There are many reasons why.
    Thanks. At last I have found one thread about steel milling machine. They are huge

So for now I will limit with aluminium and wood.

Quote Originally Posted by Phife View Post
    you'll never be able to mill aluminum with a 30-35" long skate bearing Z axis, you'll probably have alot of trouble with wood even.

Why do you need that much Z travel?
    I am producing some wooden 67" benches from 1.5" planks, I am using only hand tools at the moment Also I am very interested in small aluminium parts for RC helicopters.