586,116 active members*
3,338 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > My software is not getting the job done

My software is not getting the job done

My software is not getting the job done, or I’m not going about it the right way.
    I’m new to the world of CNC I recently purchased a small CNC router that runs a trim router as a spindle. My purpose is very single minded the only thing I wish to accomplish is making inlays in wood, these inlays for example are walnut inlayed in maple and they are at lest 1” thick. The problem I’m encountering is I can’t seem to get a good fit the software I’m using to create the vector / plotter file is Corel 12. The G code seems to jerk or leave flat spots. The way I try to make the file is create a ¼ wide line Trace it on outline thus creating two parallel lines which I separate to create two files. Seems like is should work, but its just not coming out clean. I can’t determine if its my plotter file or the G code that’s causing the problem. Now is this a good way of pursuing this problem or dose somebody know of a better way of creating inlay patterns.

Can you post a sample file? Some of us can maybe backplot it and see how it looks in a real cadcam program.

Are you getting gouges? Does the tool lift when it needs to? Are all the movements lines, no arcs?
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by HuFlungDung
    Can you post a sample file? Some of us can maybe backplot it and see how it looks in a real cadcam program.

Are you getting gouges? Does the tool lift when it needs to? Are all the movements lines, no arcs?
    What format would you like, Plotter or the G code?