586,067 active members*
5,089 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CAM Questions.

Hello,

I'm currently a student at my local university and I'm trying to get a my hobbyist CNC setup going in my garage. Around January I bought a machine made by blurrycustoms.com and it seems to be a well built machine for my first machine. It has taken me a long time to get everything set-up as I'm short on time and money (working part/full-time and attending classes). I still have a few things that I needed to do with my machine before I am satisfied and gear towards making stuff with it. I.E. I need linear rail/ballscrew covers, set-up a dust collection system and build a case to encase the machine to minimize the amount of dust that gets everywhere. So I'm not in a big hurry to as far as software goes, however I'm starting to really look into what I'll be needing so I know what to buy/use when I am. I am hoping to be able to use my machine to make a variety of different things such as: an electric guitar body, xbox 360 laptop case, lithographs, small signs, perhaps even some simple circuit boards, etc...

Currently I have access to a computer lab that has Solidworks 2010 and I'm becoming familiar with the use of this CAD program. Even though my skills are very amateurish at best I feel very comfortable with Solidworks. I will be taking an engineering class next semester that will definitely be using CAD software of some sort hopefully Solidworks, however I do not know if it will go over any of the CAM software. I have downloaded a few trial versions of a few CAM programs and I am finding that I really have NO IDEA what I am doing with any of the CAM software. So finally here are my questions:

1. What makes those expensive CAM programs so expensive? What advantages to they have over their cheaper counterparts?

2. What is 2.5D? I understand the difference between 2D and 3D, but what constitutes 2.5D as far as CAM programs go? Why not simply be 3D?