586,067 active members*
5,273 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Drilling Precise Holes on Ridged Al. Angle

Drilling Precise Holes on Ridged Al. Angle

I'm new to machining, so far I only have a $50 HF drill press, a 8" caliper, and a set of drill bits. I want to make some linear bearings based on the THK aluminum angle design, with two parallel holes on each side. One problem I have is drilling precisely. What is the best way to lineup holes? Right now I'm using a carpenders square with a pencil, but I just can't drill a hole where I want one. Usually an 1/8" or more out of line . What about blue layout paint with a scribe? What is the prefered method? Thanks...

A scriber will mark aluminum (or steel ) quite nicely without using layout blue. Don't forget to center punch the spots to be drilled so the drill has somewhere to start without wondering around.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

And so starts the addictive path of acquiring tools. You can manually layout holes to a thou or two accuracy, but you'll need snazzy stuff like a surface plate, height gauge and optical centre punch, etc (all of which you may eventually acquire in the pursuit of better workmanship)

Darabee's nailed your problem - the drill wandering. Consider buying a Starrett prick and centre punch; they're not very expensive and the Starrett quality means they'll come with a nicely formed point. When you have two intersecting layout lines scribed, the finer prick punch will "pick up" (you can feel it) the intersection - give it a light tap with a ball peen hammer followed by a heavier tap using the centre punch. The prick punch finds the interestection and the centre punch forms a crater for the drill to start in - really the same tool, just different point angles. For belts & suspenders, start the hole with a centre drill (stubby and won't flex like a twist drill) or more correctly a spotting drill.