586,075 active members*
3,982 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Mass finishing equipment/media/strategies > Mass finishing and deburring strategies

Question Mass finishing and deburring strategies

Hi,

I have been making small aluminum parts on my Taig benchtop CNC mini mill. I am looking into home/hobby/benchtop (small single phase 120v size) mass finishing solutions(machine and consumables) to deburr, polish and possibly anodize my parts.

I am a union carpenter by trade so I have no experience and am new to the world of CAD/CAM/CNC as well as the secondary operations involved in bringing a machined part to retail or finished status.

There are many options for machine, media and solutions from what I have read. Depending on the material size and shape of the parts, the quantity or size of the 'batch' to be processed (deburred and polished), the type of deburring (heavy to light), the desired finish (low to high luster), part or batch process time desired as well as budget and space requirements to name a few.

There are vibratory tubs and bowls of varying size and levels of automation. There are also high-energy vibratory systems which are vibratory type finishers with higher frequency motors. These systems use the force of gravity as they shake parts in a slurry of abrasive media and water to deburr and or polish parts in one or more manual or automated steps or cycles.

There are 'high energy' type machines such as centrifugal disc, centrifugal barrel, spindle and drag finishing. All of which offer substantially faster (5 - 40 times) batch process times than conventional vibratory tubs and bowls. These ( high energy) systems increase the action of the media on the part by introducing forces greater than that of gravity (which is used in vibratory systems) by an order of up to 25g's