586,102 active members*
3,274 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0

    Z axis is mysterious

    I don't know where to look anymore, here is my problem:

    First off I am at my first steps in generating something with my home made CNC. I was able to test with engraving a picture using Microcarve V4 and the results were almost fair to good, enough to know it is 98% accurate.

    Now using Lazycam I generated text and posted G-Code and started to engrave on Plexiglas at a deepness of 1/16" but at or near the third letter the Z axis starts going down to the point where it goes through the Plexiglas 3/16"

    This is my code up to where I start having a problem:
    Code:
    N10 (Default Mill Post)
    N15  G91.1
    N20 G0  Z0.2000 
    N25 M3 
    N30  X0.1407  Y0.3134 
    N35  Z0.1000 
    N40 G1  Z-0.1000  F8.00 
    N45  X0.1400  Y0.2650   
    N50  X0.1393  Y0.1890   
    N55  Y0.1329   
    N60  X0.1407  Y0.0149   
    N65  X0.1563  Y0.0142   
    N70  X0.2544  Y0.0163   
    N75  X0.2721   
    N80  X0.2750   
    N85  X0.2778   
    N90  X0.2800  Y0.0156   
    N95  X0.2821  Y0.0142   
    N100  X0.2835  Y0.0135   
    N105  X0.2842  Y0.0121   
    N110  X0.2849  Y0.0099   
    N115  X0.2856  Y0.0078   
    N120  X0.2849  Y0.0064   
    N125  Y0.0050   
    N130  X0.2842  Y0.0036   
    N135  X0.2835  Y0.0028   
    N140  X0.2828  Y0.0021   
    N145  X0.2814  Y0.0014   
    N150  X0.2800  Y0.0007   
    N155  X0.2785  Y0.0000   
    N160  X0.2778   
    N165  X0.2771   
    N170  X0.2757   
    N175  X0.2750   
    N180  X0.2736   
    N185  X0.2714   
    N190  X0.2700   
    N195  X0.2679   
    N200  X0.0000   
    N205  Y0.0867   
    N210  X0.0007  Y0.1407   
    N215  Y0.2011   
    N220  X0.0000  Y0.2935   
    N225  X0.0007  Y0.3134   
    N230  X0.1227   
    N235  X0.1407   
    N240 G0  Z0.2000 
    N245  X0.3725  Y0.3318 
    N250  Z0.1000 
    N255 G1  Z-0.1000  
    N260  X0.3605  Y0.3304   
    N265  X0.3505  Y0.3276   
    N270  X0.3427  Y0.3240   
    N275  X0.3363  Y0.3197   
    N280  X0.3320  Y0.3141   
    N285  X0.3292  Y0.3077   
    N290  X0.3285  Y0.2999   
    N295  X0.3292  Y0.2927   
    N300  X0.3320  Y0.2864   
    N305  X0.3363  Y0.2807   
    N310  X0.3427  Y0.2764   
    N315  X0.3505  Y0.2729   
    N320  X0.3605  Y0.2700   
    N325  X0.3725  Y0.2686   
    N330  X0.3860  Y0.2679   
    N335  X0.3924  Y0.2686   
    N340  X0.3995   
    N345  X0.4059  Y0.2693   
    N350  X0.4116  Y0.2700   
    N355  X0.4166  Y0.2714   
    N360  X0.4216  Y0.2729   
    N365  X0.4265  Y0.2750   
    N370  X0.4308  Y0.2764   
    N375  X0.4344  Y0.2792   
    N380  X0.4379  Y0.2814   
    N385  X0.4408  Y0.2842   
    N390  X0.4436  Y0.2871   
    N395  X0.4450  Y0.2899   
    N400  X0.4464  Y0.2935   
    N405  X0.4472  Y0.2963   
    N410  X0.4479  Y0.2999   
    N415  X0.4464  Y0.3077   
    N420  X0.4436  Y0.3141   
    N425  X0.4386  Y0.3197   
    N430  X0.4322  Y0.3240   
    N435  X0.4237  Y0.3276   
    N440  X0.4130  Y0.3304   
    N445  X0.4003  Y0.3318   
    N450  X0.3860   
    N455  X0.3725   
    N460 G0  Z0.2000 
    N465  X0.3285  Y0.2508 
    N470  Z0.1000 
    N475 G1  Z-0.1000  
    N480  Y0.2423   
    N485  Y0.1982   
    N490  X0.3299  Y0.1592   
    N495  X0.3285  Y0.0846   
    N500  Y0.0000   
    N505  X0.4457   
    N510  Y0.0206   
    N515  X0.4443  Y0.0682   
    N520  X0.4457  Y0.1528   
    N525  Y0.2082   
    N530  X0.4472  Y0.2444   
    N535  Y0.2508   
    N540  X0.3285   
    N545 G0  Z0.2000 
    N550  X0.5830  Y0.3134 
    N555  Z0.1000 
    N560 G1  Z-0.1000  
    N565  Y0.3020   
    N570  Y0.2210   
    N575  Y0.1855   
    N580  X0.5823  Y0.1215   
    N585  X0.5830  Y0.0085   
    N590  Y0.0000   
    N595  X0.4658   
    N600  Y0.0107   
    N605  Y0.0469   
    N610  Y0.1130   
    N615  X0.4672  Y0.1997   
    N620  X0.4665  Y0.2466   
    N625  X0.4658  Y0.2977   
    N630  X0.4665  Y0.3134   
    N635  X0.5650   
    N640  X0.5830   
    N645 G0  Z0.2000 
    N650  X0.6446  Y0.3318 
    N655  Z0.1000 
    N660 G1  Z-0.1000  
    N665  X0.6326  Y0.3304   
    N670  X0.6226  Y0.3276   
    N675  X0.6148  Y0.3240   
    N680  X0.6084  Y0.3197   
    N685  X0.6041  Y0.3141   
    N690  X0.6013  Y0.3077   
    N695  X0.6006  Y0.2999   
    N700  X0.6013  Y0.2927   
    N705  X0.6041  Y0.2864   
    N710  X0.6084  Y0.2807   
    N715  X0.6148  Y0.2764   
    N720  X0.6226  Y0.2729   
    N725  X0.6326  Y0.2700   
    N730  X0.6446  Y0.2686   
    N735  X0.6581  Y0.2679   
    N740  X0.6645  Y0.2686   
    N745  X0.6716   
    N750  X0.6780  Y0.2693   
    N755  X0.6837  Y0.2700   
    N760  X0.6887  Y0.2714   
    N765  X0.6937  Y0.2729   
    N770  X0.6987  Y0.2750   
    N775  X0.7029  Y0.2764   
    N780  X0.7065  Y0.2792   
    N785  X0.7100  Y0.2814   
    N790  X0.7129  Y0.2842   
    N795  X0.7157  Y0.2871   
    N800  X0.7171  Y0.2899   
    N805  X0.7185  Y0.2935   
    N810  X0.7193  Y0.2963   
    N815  X0.7200  Y0.2999   
    N820  X0.7185  Y0.3077   
    N825  X0.7157  Y0.3141   
    N830  X0.7107  Y0.3197   
    N835  X0.7043  Y0.3240   
    N840  X0.6958  Y0.3276   
    N845  X0.6852  Y0.3304   
    N850  X0.6724  Y0.3318   
    N855  X0.6581   
    N860  X0.6446   
    N865 G0  Z0.2000 
    N870  X0.6006  Y0.2508 
    N875  Z0.1000 
    N880 G1  Z-0.1000  
    N885  Y0.2423   
    N890  Y0.1982   
    N895  X0.6020  Y0.1592   
    N900  X0.6006  Y0.0846   
    N905  Y0.0000   
    N910  X0.7178   
    N915  Y0.0206   
    N920  X0.7164  Y0.0682   
    N925  X0.7178  Y0.1528   
    N930  Y0.2082   
    N935  X0.7193  Y0.2444   
    N940  Y0.2508   
    N945  X0.6006   
    N950 G0  Z0.2000 
    N955  X0.9112  Y0.1606 
    N960  Z0.1000 
    N965 G1  Z-0.1000
    So I figured my Z axis is missing some steps therefore I ran some test using this code:

    Code:
    F8
    G20 G90
    M98 P1234 L50
    M30 (stop)
    O1234
    G1 z-0.1
    G1 z0.2
    G1 z0
    M99
    But after the 50 loops, Z is at zero and accurate.

    What can be my problem?

    Thanks for any help.

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    You're losing steps on the G0 moves, and your testing with much slower G1 moves.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    Yes you are right, I tested again replacing G1 with G0 in my test code and I am loosing 0.4073 after 50 loops
    Why am I loosing steps on the G0 moves and not on G1?
    Do I have to slow down the velocity and play with acceleration?

    Thank you

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    Cut the acceleration in half.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    My acceleration was set to 2, I tried to set it at 1 and also at 4 but still got the same results.

    I had previously started another thread and I guess I should have kept it going but I figured I had a different issue and this is why I started this thread.

    Actually I am starting to think my issue is I am getting old because I keep running into different problems and this all doesn't seem logical to me, it looks like there is no specific setup procedure that applies to everyone.

    So going back to that other post you had suggested I go from 35KHz to 25KHzs which I did but it made things worse however I tried 40KHz and all was going right (until this present thread)

    So now it is getting complicated therefore I have started from scratch. The seller of my driver board suggests I use 35KHz so I set 35KHz. Note that I have tried the drivertest and I get "System Excellent" from 25KHz up to 100KHz.

    I have used the Axis calibration "Set steps per unit" on the settings screen and got steps per = 31659.90338 for accurate distance travel.
    I set Acceleration to 5 and I tested velocity for maximum which was 33. Going to 34 started going slower so I reduced by 20% and set velocity to 27.2 and reduced acceleration to 2.

    Now if I run this code using 9 loops, its all good:
    Code:
    F8
    G20 G91.1
    M98 P1234 L9
    M30 (stop)
    O1234
    G0 z.5
    G0 z0
    M99
    If I run it 50 loops, looking at the diagnostics screen while Queue Depth cycles from 20 to 19 and back to 20 it is also all good until the computer beeps and at the same time as the Queue Depth cycles from 19 to 18 and keeps going down. At that moment the stepper screams and looses about 0.23 worth of steps.
    I changed Acceleration from 2 to 1 and also tried 4 with no apparent improvement. I also tried reducing velocity to 20 but still the same problem.

    My steppers have 4 wires, I've tried inverting each set of wires going to coils with no change.

    Is there anything I can test perhaps with an oscilloscope?

    Thanks again for any help and patience

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    138
    Check for a loose setscrew on the z-axis drive couplers. If there are none already, file some flats on the shafts and be sure the setscrews engage those flats.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    There is nothing loose. The missing steps can be heard when the stepper screams as soon as the computer beeps when the Queue Depth is no longer buffered.
    I can set my code to do 100 loops and it will do at least 80 without loosing steps but almost near the end the problem happens.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    How fast is your PC, and what does the drivertest look like? Is it a perfectly flat line, or are there spikes in it?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    I have a Pentium 4 processor 3.4GHz with 1 GB of RAM

    I do see a few spikes in the drivertest
    With 35KHz it looks like this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dtest.png 
Views:	38 
Size:	19.0 KB 
ID:	113717
    And with 100KHs it looks like this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dtest100.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	18.9 KB 
ID:	113718

    I do not understand much of what the drivertest shows other than the status "System excellent"

    Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    294
    Try doing your loops with G0 in one direction (say up) and G1 the other way (down). If you G0 both ways you may be losing the same number of steps both ways (OK the Z is special because up is harder than down). But if you lose steps on the rapid, but not on the slow, it will show up. Also this mimics the way the Z is moved in your engraving code.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362
    lilimike

    Try changing the G91.1 to G90 this may make the control work for you better as well
    Mactec54

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3655
    Voltage= speed. Double the Voltage, double the speed. Are you running your 52V motors on 12V? If so, try using the 24V PSU again. It should double your rapid speed--and stop the missing steps problem at 33IPM.

    Maybe you should think about upgrading to a G540.
    http://kelinginc.net/GeckorDriver.html

    CR.
    http://crevicereamer.com
    Too many PMs. Email me to my name plus At A O L dot com.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3498
    CR.. is right.. Double the Voltage or Triple the voltage...
    http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/ http://my-woodcarving.blogspot.com/
    http://my-diysolarwind.blogspot.com/

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    UUU and Mactec,

    Your suggestions might work but I feel like I would be going around the problem instead of resolving it. At this point I realize something is obviously wrong and it is either the power supply, the driver board or my steppers but my goal is to fix it so that it will work properly no matter how the G-Code is written.

    CR and Khalid,
    Before I had a 12 Volt supply I was using a 24 volts and I had even more issues. On my Chinese driver board there is an indication for the supply (12V to 24V) but I am now thinking that 12V is possibly the source of my problem and I have a feeling the Chinese board might actually start giving up at 23.xxxx V and/or my 24V supply may be giving out 24.xxxx + which is over the limit so I guess I will investigate the power supply.

    So far I have tried 2 switching power supply (12V and 24V) I don't know if I have read or if I had a dream but can no longer find any indication, is it possible that I should be using a linear power supply instead of the switching type?

    I've been 2 weeks looking at problems so i guess I can continue for a little longer until I will most likely replace all the electronics by something more serious.

    Mike

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3655
    Many switching PSUs have an adjustment for Voltage. Maybe you could adjust it to 23~.

    CR.
    http://crevicereamer.com
    Too many PMs. Email me to my name plus At A O L dot com.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    Taking another look at the driver board it indicates 12V to 36V.
    So I put back my 24V supply which can be adjusted from 23V to 25V but really this is more troublesome, the stepper sounds like a stepper when velocity is set to 2 and the max before it gives hissing sounds is 9 and even at 9 it doesn't sound healthy and it is actually loosing steps coming down. I really think now my issue is this Chinese driver board. I figured I would spend $50 instead of $150 but it turns out I will spend $150 on top of the $50 I just paid. I will wait until I have the other driver board and see how it goes before I pull any more hair out for what is left of it!

    Thank you all for your help.

    Mike

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    If anyone is browsing this thread in search for a solution to fix the multiple problems of Chinese driver boards, see this thread and read it to the end as there are 2 updates from the first post.

    Mike

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3757

    Use the manual.

    Read and follow section 5.5 of the Mach3 manual.
    Get this right and you will have no troubles.:withstupi
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    0
    Hi Neil,

    Thanks for your suggestion but that was my first approach but really my issue was the cheap Chinese driver board. With the fix (see other thread) it's working at half the speed but its working.

    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Mysterious tool
    By SIRSEBAST in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-02-2009, 04:58 AM
  2. Compare Catia and MCX2 for multi axis lathe/4 axis mill
    By bob1112 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2008, 01:15 AM
  3. Mysterious plastic
    By sp1nm0nkey in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 03:46 PM
  4. Mysterious "W" series NSK Ballscrews
    By NC_jimbo in forum Linear and Rotary Motion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2007, 06:38 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 06:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •