586,119 active members*
3,580 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Talking Lonestar 5 x 10 Build

I've been lurking here for several years just reading the and soaking up the amazing amount of information that is available here. I've been dreaming of owning a plasma table for the past several years but the cost of a turnkey setup put it far out of reach. Thus I began researching the process to build my own. I looked at alot of different designs and companies for ideas. I had planned to start a small 4x4build months ago but, I landed a new job with a good amount of overtime so time has been rare lately.

I almost picked up a torchmate 2x2 for the ease of use but after further research I decided it would be more of a hassle than its worth. After reading many post from people saying they wished they had gone bigger I decided that I would learn from their mistakes and do it right the first time. I began talking to ron from perscion plasma and after his great responses and quick replies I took the plunge on a friday, wednesday I had my kit.

Here's the plans
    Perscion plasma 5x10 kit
    6" Rotary chuck
    BladeRunner Aio 5 axis w/ 620 oz in motors
    Hypertherm Powermax 45
    Table built from 1/4" wall material
    Custom Plate marker
    Custom Pc w/ soildworks 2010
    Cable track system
    E stop Switch on either end of the table
    Overhead gantry with lift magnet
    Aircell refrigerated dryer
    Plasmaspider 2 stage air dryer

I've got most of it figured out. I just need to save for the CandCNC setup and iron out a few details. I've been looking for cable track for a while now and think ive settled on the right type. Its from Igus series 25.4.100( 3x1(bend radius 3.5") I figure i'll need roughly 20" feet. Can any one give their opinion as to if this will work or is it too big? The price is right at bout $12/ft but after looking at many designs it seems its a little large in comparison. Can't wait to start on this!

Thanks,
    Cory