586,305 active members*
3,855 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Monarch Vmc-150 Retrofit

Hey I'm about to retrofit a Monarch vmc150 4 axis mill with 30" x 70" travel (I think) I am in southern Colorado. Before I convince my boss to make the initial investment I would like to know how much smoke the salesman blew in the general direction of my posterior when I called.

First off understand that I am needing to get into this machine as quickly and as cheaply as possible. It was purchased with an eye towards production and it has cost far to much already. I do plan on upgrading a few things at a later date, but for now it needs to pay its way a little.

I was quoted cnclite for temporary control, with an eye towards upgrading later.
    (side note I am a full time student and I noticed in another thread it may be possible to get my hands on a student version of pro for around $500, anyone with details please give.)

1 cs21720 7 axis ethernet dsp based controller card

1 usb jogstick

the sales guy told me I should be able to get most of the install done myself with phone and video help from camsoft and should only need someone onsite a day or two. (please note he of course did include all neccesary CYA statements and never guaranteed any of this)

what I need to know is how realistic is this, is there a better route, and what do I need to know before shelling out my bosses well horded money, and is there any installer out there who would like an all expense paid trip to the beautiful san luis valley for less than $620.00 per day.

From what some guys have told me about Monarchs, there's quite a bit of stuff to try to interface on one of those babies, what with the floating Z axis for tapping, toolchanger, etc.