586,061 active members*
4,414 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Aluminum sheet cutting on router

Aluminum sheet cutting on router

Newbie here,
    I am gonna cut some .08 aluminum sheet with a 3/16 O flute. My max speed of my machine is 25 ips.

Question:
    What should my feed rate and depth per pass and rpm be?

Will screwing it down work ok? I have read about people using double sided tape but that didn't sound like fun.

Double-sided tape will work awesome, if you have a properly prepared surface: flat, non-porous, and thoroughly degreased (brake cleaner, alcohol, etc) surface.

Set your router to the slowest rpm's possible. If you can spare about $10, buy an 1/8", solid carbide spiral flute end-mill (2 flutes is better than 4 for this). Check MSC direct, or McMaster-carr for this item.

Occasionally spray the cutting tool with wd-40 or kerosene to prohibit the aluminum from becoming welded to the tip of the cutter. The WD-40 will try to dissolve the sticky off of the tape, so maybe a few screws would not hurt, just in case.

Perhaps you could try 0.040" per pass. That has worked for me in the past, with my porter-cable router.

I am sure that you will receive many more opinions on this process, so stay tuned.

Cheers!

Rob

This is double sided foam tape yea? I can't imagine regular old double sided tape would work.

For aluminium profiling I like a 1/4" 3 flute cutter, it cuts smoother with at least one flute always engaged in the material and should leave a nicer surface finish than the single flute. Nevertheless, the O flute tools are a good choice and should work fine. I'd suggest 24,000 rpm and 80-100 ipm (assuming it's single flute, never seen a multi flute O cutter so I'm guessing it is).