586,094 active members*
4,054 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    214

    Tool nose comp

    Hello there.
    I need help adding G2 to a small program.
    I'm making a circle 1.250 diameter with a tool .625 diameter
    the program I have is:
    from the center of the circle:

    G2G91X.250Y0.R.125
    G2I-.250
    G2X-.250Y0.R.125 (WORKS GOOD not using tool compensation)

    Now...I need to be able to adjust the 1.125 diameter, I'm trying this.

    G2G91G42X.5625Y0.0R.281
    G2I-.5625
    G2X-.5625Y0.0R.281
    G1G40Z1.0

    But is not working (alarms out). Please where is the bug or advice for a different way to do this.

    Thank you in advance.

    George

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    G2G91G42X.5625Y0.0R.281

    You cannot have G02 as the start-up move in radius compensation. It has to be G00 or G01. Thereafter you can switch over to G02/03.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by jorgehrr View Post
    Hello there.
    I need help adding G2 to a small program.
    I'm making a circle 1.250 diameter with a tool .625 diameter
    the program I have is:
    from the center of the circle:

    G2G91X.250Y0.R.125
    G2I-.250
    G2X-.250Y0.R.125 (WORKS GOOD not using tool compensation)

    Now...I need to be able to adjust the 1.125 diameter, I'm trying this.

    G2G91G42X.5625Y0.0R.281
    G2I-.5625
    G2X-.5625Y0.0R.281
    G1G40Z1.0

    But is not working (alarms out). Please where is the bug or advice for a different way to do this.

    Thank you in advance.

    George
    Of course this depends on what control you are programming, but most don't like comps starting on arcs. Try a straight line move before the first arc, turning on your comp there, and turn off your comp in a line move after bringing the Z up.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    214

    Thank you guys.
    You have a point there, I completely forgot about that rule.
    I'll turn it on in my rapid to the center of the hole (Z-.250).

    Again...Thank you

    George

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    X/Y move is needed. A Z move cannot incorporate radius compensation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153
    just open the nc file and edit out the g28 x0 y0 at the end or throw in your m30 before that line.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    214
    So...If I want to keep the program the way it is starting and finishing with an arc move. ( finish is great) how and where do I turn compensation on.
    Can you give some samples.
    Regards.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    Quote Originally Posted by jorgehrr View Post
    So...If I want to keep the program the way it is starting and finishing with an arc move. ( finish is great) how and where do I turn compensation on.
    Can you give some samples.
    Regards.
    I don't believe you've told us what control it is. As beege said, it does matter. On a Fanuc, Yasnac, or Haas, you'll get a CRC interference alarm if you program a 0.218 inside radius with 0.3125 in the offset register (the way you have it now).

    If you're dead-set on starting and finishing on an arc, use your "good" program and only put the amount you need to adjust into the offset register, and turn on the comp with the XY rapid to the center.

    G0G42X0Y0
    Z-0.25
    G2G91X.250Y0.R.125
    G2I-.250
    G2X-.250Y0.R.125
    G0G40G90Z1.0

    Otherwise, add lead-in/lead-out lines to turn the comp on and off (per the attached .jpg).

    Of course, that's assuming it's a Fanuc or similar control...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CUTTER COMP EX.jpg  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    214
    I'm sorry. FANUC.
    I have to try your sample. What I did for now is increase the value of X and I to make the circle a bit bigger.
    Monday I'll change it to see if it works.
    Thank you all for your help.
    Regards

    George

Similar Threads

  1. tool nose radius comp
    By joe1970 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 04:43 AM
  2. Tool nose comp for Fanuc OT?
    By Bobesmo in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 11:48 PM
  3. tool nose comp?
    By wronggrade in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-02-2008, 01:46 PM
  4. Help with tool nose radius comp
    By mcash3000 in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-09-2008, 02:25 PM
  5. tool nose comp.?
    By pp-TG in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2006, 09:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •