586,594 active members*
2,945 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Bridgeport CNC conversion

Hello

I'm only a newbie to large mills, I have converted a desktop mill to CNC
    Can old bridgeport mill be converted to CNC and is it worth it?

Conversion

I feel you would be better off to purchase a cnc to start with and if need be retrofit it.
    You can get some good deals on used machines right now.
    Good iron to start with.
    Could be something as simple as adding a breakout board and running it off a pc with anyone of the available softwares out there.
    I have a series II that I put one of Dereks breakout boards on and run it off Mach 3.
    That is if the original drives and steppers are still good.
    Mine works great.
    The other option would be to strip it and retrofit to either servos or steppers
    with geckos or some other drives.
    This way the ballscrews and all are already there.
    Just my 2cents.

remember I am from Australia not the US
    Not many good deals on used machines here

Sorry,didn,t look to see where you were located.
    I bet Australia is a beautiful country.
    Ill swap you my machine for a piece of ground over there.

Wink

Can you convert an old manual Bridgeport to CNC? Yes, you can.

Is it worth doing? No, it is not worth doing, in my opinion, as you would end up with something not as good. It is fun, and educational, but the result just would not be as fully capable as a real CNC machine. But it would work, people do it all the time.

I would also wait and look for a real CNC machine that you can retrofit.

Even if I was in Australia.

i

What's an example of a "real" CNC machine?