586,531 active members*
2,987 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > DynaTorch > Problems with Interface Controller

Problems with Interface Controller

Hello All
    I am new to the CNC Plasma Cutting. I have a Older Version DynaTorch 5 x 10 table circa 2005 with an air handler table and a Hypertherm 1250 G3, SpeedAire Compressor with Refridgerator Dryer. I have been using the machine for a couple of months and it cuts very well. I added an OHMIC Sensor to the torch and have recently began to experience problems. The first problem was the THC. the Set Point Voltage would be set at say 149 cutting 10 gauge mild steel with a 40 amp tip. The arc voltage would fluctuate around 20 volts. I added a capacitor and it now stays within 1 volt. THC worked well at this point. Then one day I noticed that the Set Point Voltage to cut the above material i had to bump to 169 to keep the torch from hitting the metal. The ARC voltage remained within 1 volt of the Set Point Voltage basically it was a 20 volt increase to cut the same material. Then two days ago I notice that my ARC Voltage when the machine was idle read 149 when it should be 0 and when running went to 211 even though SP was set at 169. The Torch was very erratic and THC had to be turned off. I called Leon Drake and he said that I have an old Interface Box with a AVC fuse that may be blown. I checked and it was not. He also stated that the THC Motor may have gone bad. I checked it and according to Leon when disconnected I should have +++ in the ARC window which I did. From there I was told that I need to send the interface controller in. I am wondering if I may have caused the controller to fail. Has anyone experienced this and what was the cause and fix

Quote Originally Posted by AZBBQGrills View Post
    Hello All