586,119 active members*
3,466 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Just starting out with cnc conversion

Just starting out with cnc conversion

I am just starting out with CNC as a hobby. I plan to buy a mill and convert it to CNC myself. As I have been searching craigslist and ebay I see a lot of full size mills for sale in the same price range as new mini mills. What are the dangers of buying a full sized mill vs a mini mill for a conversion?

I am doing this on the tightest budget I can. Since it is a hobby I can't justify putting out $5000 just to get started. I am already in the processes of making a desktop mill for PCB milling, still in the gathering stage. I have been doing lots of research here as well as instructables, cncinformation, reprap...
    I am pretty sure I want to cut up to aluminum and not much past.

What's your advice?

Thanks
    eisman

Welcome to our hobby!!!

I recommend one of the BF20's myself... IMO they are a step above the X3 and the fit and finish is great. I think i will have well under $2000 in mine after the cnc conversion...

check out one of Hoss's site @ g0704.com

or if you want to go with an X2 he is also the authority on that machine as well, Hossmachine Homepage

if you think you need something bigger than the G0704 then check out Hoss RF45 clone, he has a link on the hoss machine homepage for it. But honestly unless you do really big parts the G0704 can tackle a lot.
    http://www.g0704.blogspot.com/

I have personally seen both BF20 and X3/SX3 and I dont necessarily think the