586,106 active members*
2,987 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Okuma MC-V4020 pitch error comps

Unhappy Okuma MC-V4020 pitch error comps

I'm a newbie, so here we go! I put in a reground Y-axis ballscrew, everything went well. The Renishaw laser raw data said we needed 40 microns of comping (very linearly) in the 508mm (20") of travel. We put the numbers into the U10 control and we got down to 8-9 microns. I would have thought it would have been within 3 microns or less. Every time we relasered and adjusted comps different results were attained. Sometimes we would put large comp numbers in a position and the laser graph shows no change in that area but somewhere else 2-3 spots would move. We finally stopped after probably 50 lasers or more. The best we could do is 3 1/2 microns. Can someone tell us how the comps work in this U10 control and any tricks to putting in the values? Thanks

you stuck into control. First you need to make sure if mechanical condition is correct. No control trick to compensate mechanical chaos.
    is tension of ball screw correct?
    make several tests with time interval without any error compensation. Put all data into table and see if there is repeatability.

Thanks for the reply! We ran 3 tests over 2 days with no comp in control and all 3 tests showed the same result, 40-42 microns in a linear pattern over the 508mm of travel. After each raw test we put in the laser comps from the Renishaw program and each time we ended up with about 8-9 microns left to comp in a less but somewhat linear pattern. The ballscrew was put in with .0032 stretch which was the recommendation from our Okuma service rep. Backlash result from laser switched on and off from 0 microns to 1 micron which was the same result I saw when I did a ballbar test on raw comped screw.

strange. Please, check your parameter settings. Maybe there is "in position" to high?