586,096 active members*
3,876 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Help Needed - Motors not running

Hello all,

I am a newbie to CNC, trying to make a small router.

I have been trying to run my 10 kg.cm stepper motors via parallel port through Mach3 software. But motor is not running. When the power is turned ON the motor gets holding torque, but it is not running through software. The installation of Mach software was done properly and also the driver test resulted "excellent". Everything done as per Mach3 pdf manual and happened properly so far. Also check my wiring diagram.

Please help me sort out this problem that has left me clueless.

Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails STEPPER WIRING DIAGRAM.JPG  

I think you need a signal ground (return) wire from the stepper drivers to the parallel cable.

John

Quote Originally Posted by johnmac View Post
    I think you need a signal ground (return) wire from the stepper drivers to the parallel cable.

John

Dear John,

Thanks for your reply, would you be kind enough to tell me where this signal ground wire to join? I understand in parallel port pin 18 to 25 are short and they should be used as ground. But where should I join the other end of the ground wire i.e. in stepper driver?

From the diagram, I'm not sure. It may share the ground with the power supply, but I don't recommend trying that without knowing for sure.

John

OK, this is a guess. The ENA may be the ENABLE and the OPTO may be the logic ground.

John

Do you have documentation for the drivers? That is the first step.

The GND needs to be connected. Take a photo of a driver for us if you have no manual.

Look at the diagnostics page on Mach3 and read the Mach3 manual regarding setup.
    Clear Mach3 status line, try to move and see what it says.
    Is Mach3 in emergency stop mode?
    Are the jog keys enabled?