586,058 active members*
4,290 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Thumbs up Shocking experience with "York Laser" Laser Engraver

I recently purchased a new 80w co2 laser from YorkLaser in China.
    The company were most helpful and promised to provide technical support as required. When the unit arrived the fun started. (luckily i have extensive engineering experience as the build quaility is shocking). The first issue was that a foot fell off as w lifted the unit off the pallet (the welding was one-sided). then i found that they forgot to pack the 1200mm x 900mm honeycombe cutting bed. The third issue was that the Laser beam was firing into the first mirror 8mm above centre. There is no available adjustment for this. I managed to calibrate the beam through the cutting head but the power was down by 50%. I wrote to York Laser and enclosed photos of the mis-match. They responded with "do not try to fix, laser may still work". I cut my own spacer from 8mm acrylic to raise the primary mirror block up, then re-calibrated the beam and had twice the power. During calibration noticed that the lens appeared to have damaged coating. I had ordered a spare lens with the machine luckily so i installed that. Then i found that the beam was cutting off-square. To fix that i had to remove the cutting head mounts and slot 3 holes to get enough adjustment. Then i found that the rise and full bed was 10mm lower on the right hand side. I had to remove the belts driving the threaded rods to level the table & thats when i found all the fresh swarf still emdedded in the threads! Once i rectified the above issues I decided to test the rotary attachment. First issue: nowhere to plug it in!