586,036 active members*
3,979 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Drawing a chassis

Hey everyone. I am currently designing a new set of tvp for my hpi savage x. I have a cad of the tvp without all the holes that arent needed and I am going to print it off and draw a new design. the new design will be titanium flames winding around the holes need and across the mounting holes and joining up for strength at various points at the tip of the flames. I can do this by hand ok but I am still very new to cad and mostly do things for function not form. I was hoping that someone could do a cad drawing off my hand drawing ready to be cut.
    Thanks heaps.

If you start with a printed outline of the TVPs with the holes marked properly, then draw over that, you can just scan up your drawing and use a program like adobe illustrator, any Vectric software, or inkscape(free). Programs like these (there are tons of others) will have a "convert bitmap to vector" command that will digitize your hand drawing so that it can be imported into CAM software.

This will of course be an exact replica of your hand drawing, including imperfections. If you want to have perfectly straight lines and radii on the flames, you will have to find someone who's good at CAD design to start from scratch, or potentially just alter your hand drawing.
    JGRO Complete - G540, 380oz Nema23s, 1/2-10 ACME, 30"x14", Craftsman router
    Joes 4x4 R&P in progress

After thinking about it I think just drawin in cad would be best. Anyone good at drawing flames?
    Thanks.

Motas,

Please post a rough sketch of what you would like.

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.