586,069 active members*
3,425 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > 4th axis/Rotary Table setup. Please help!

4th axis/Rotary Table setup. Please help!

Okay, I'm very new to CNC. I recently purchased a "hobby" 3 axis 24"x40"chinese-made machine with an add-on 4 axis rotary table. All axis' are calibrated and working great in Mach3. I will be using this machine to make small 3d model parts out of wax, foam, or plaster. Tool paths are being generated with DeskPronto.

Here is what I need help with... Axis A needs to be mounted to to table. Right now my home location for XY and Z is set in one of the back corners of the table.

Do I need a new home location after I mount the 4th axis?

Also, what is the best way to calibrate Z depth and start position for 4 axis milling?

Do I need to dig deeper into Mach 3?

Any help, suggestions, links or reading info would be very much appreciated!

Have you used this machine in 3-axis mode?

[QUOTE=TheProCreator;849665]Okay, I'm very new to CNC. I recently purchased a "hobby" 3 axis 24"x40"chinese-made machine with an add-on 4 axis rotary table. All axis' are calibrated and working great in Mach3. I will be using this machine to make small 3d model parts out of wax, foam, or plaster. Tool paths are being generated with DeskPronto.

Here is what I need help with... Axis A needs to be mounted to to table. Right now my home location for XY and Z is set in one of the back corners of the table.

[No, "Home" is just a reference point. You can set your floating zero points in relationship to your home position if it's accurate enough, but that depends on the type of switches used.]

Also, what is the best way to calibrate Z depth and start position for 4 axis milling?