586,065 active members*
4,382 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > True 3D cam software for hobby users

True 3D cam software for hobby users

I am a 3d modeler... i went to school for programs like MAYA, 3d studio max, solidworks...

And that is what got me into cnc machining... i thought it would be sooo neat to be able to actually make some of the things i modeled on the computer...

Well i have tried a few free or demo cam programs, and they are all far from anything i would consider 3d. i guess that is what they call 2.5d you draw something in 2axis, and just say how deep you want it, and that is supposed to be 3d?

It just seems a huge waste to try and relearn and redraw everything in 2d... when everything i want to do is already in glorious 3d.

Is there any cam program out there that can import and work with 3d files?
    i wouldnt even mind if i had to re-draw them, if i could re-draw them in a 3d cam program. im a 3D kind of guy... this 2.5d stuff is like walking 10 miles to work when you have a brand new car sitting in your driveway.

So is there a free or hobby priced true 3d cam program out there?
    I have a bridgeport vertical mill with cnc retrofit. running mach3. the only thing i am missing is a good cam package.

if any of you have ben to emachineshop.com... they have a super cool free download 3d program to design your parts... problem is that you can only use it to make parts and send it to them to have them machine it. A program like theirs would be exactly what i would love to have. Just want to be able to use it with my own machine.

if free/cheap 3d doesnt exist... what is the best 3d cam software for the price? and how much am i going to need to save up for something i wont regret buying?

There are two types of 3D programs.

Inexpensive ones that work with .stl files and other polygonal models.