586,042 active members*
3,796 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > New G0704, need 2 or 3 axis DRO kit?

New G0704, need 2 or 3 axis DRO kit?

I ordered the G0704 from grizzly a week or so ago and Grizzly said they will start being delivered the first week of January.

With all the research I did on this machine I seen somewhere the motors are now 800 watts and now I can't remember where I read it at so as of now "it's only a rumor."

I've been a mechanic for 25 years for Dodge and Toyota and the last 5 years as a underground coal mine mechanic now retired. I bought the G0704 machine to add to my shop so that I can try gunsmithing, since you can't get your guns worked on around here unless you wait 5-6 months and then the work is shabby at best and most gunsmiths don't even know what a 1918 BAR is.

My question is;

I would like to add DRO to this machine and since the spindle has DRO I'm thinking on getting just a 2 axis DRO kit from LMS or would it be better to go with the 3 axis DRO kit?

Thanks!

Dont forget DroPros or the drostore online. Both have great products as does LMS. If money isnt an issue by all means get the 3 axis. Much better to have everything right in front of you! LOL

shabby at best
    I would say this about the quill DRO. Get a full 3 axis DRO and save yourself a headache.

Yeah, That's the only reason I could come up with by getting the 3 axis unit, just for practicality of it ( And less headaches). But then again, what do I know. Not much on mills and laths! That's why I'm here so I can learn this stuff.

I will check out the on line DRO stores and do more research like I did on the LMS DRO's, they are all about the same price. I just need to shop and research for the best one I can afford.