586,103 active members*
3,404 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Physics undergrad decides to have some fun.

I came across this website after bumping into DIYEngineer on YouTube, and I've got to say this is a great resource. I've already read nearly a hundred pages of build threads so far and some of the stuff here is truly amazing. I'm amped to get working on my own.

So, I'm going to start off this thread with a few posts I've written up. They're mostly detailed background information and rambling, but it was helpful for me to type them to organize my thoughts and I like to keep detailed records of things.

As I get further into my ramblings and arrive at the point where I have questions, I've put the questions in bold, so they stick out.

If you have the time and patience to actually read my ramblings and give feedback, I'd greatly appreciate it!

Background - Why build a CNC table?

Ok, so I am an undergraduate student at U. of MD, shooting for a triple degree in physics, math, and computer science. In hindsight, I should have done mechanical, electrical, and computer engineering, but whatever - that's not important. What is important is that I've got a mind that likes working with numbers, and in turn, likes designing things and working with tools.

Coincidentally, I've also been working as a personal trainer for over two years. I've got this going as my own LLC, with my website here.

A few months ago, I got the chance to begin oxyacetylene welding. That's right up my alley, so I jumped on the chance. And what did I start building? Fitness equipment, of course!

So, now I'm getting pretty good at this and would like to take this work from "hobbyist" to "light industrial." I'll be buying a MIG welder in the next week or two (looking at the Millermatic 211) and I'd like to get a plasma table running in the next few months.