586,071 active members*
3,900 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Just purchased Solidcam today!

Well I hope i made the right decision. I purchased solidcam today for my new HAAS VF1.

I looked at a bunch of different packages - Gibbs, Featurecam, DFS, Camworks, Solidcam, Bob-cam, mastercam.....

I really liked the DFS, Camworks, and Solidcam since they all ran inside of solidworks and i know that system and i am new to CAM and CNC programming.

I purchased the 2.5D professional with HSM 3D and Sim 3/4 axis with HSS.
    Got a great end of the year price and the dealer i purchased it through is only mins away with a great history of customer support and satifaction.

To all of you using solidcam.... did you make the right choice?

thanks all

For sure!

I've tried a couple of other CAM systems but I always come back to Solidcam.

I love Solidworks and I really need something that integrates with it. I can't be having all this fuss importing my models into other software.

Play with it, and have fun with it. There's some great features and the post processor files are easy to modify.

I've had a Fadal 3016 with Fanuc 0i for about 4 years now and getting good posts wasn't an issue. And was certainly made much easier thanks to the easy to understand help files and the fantastic support from 'smarter them me' guys on this forum.

Three months ago my new Haas VF2 arrived, and within a couple of hours and a couple of .gpp file tweaks I was up and running. In fact within a couple of hours I had the machine pumping out boring mass production parts, and it only just stopped yesterday (12,000 parts later) to have a couple of days off for the New Year.

All said and done, a good choice.

Matt.

I believe you did,

After spending money on other "solution",
    Solidcam was the best decision i've made.
    With Solidcam professor my employees learned how to save some time and $$$.