586,072 active members*
4,472 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor > Multiple Similar Profiles - CNC Turning SolidCAM

Multiple Similar Profiles - CNC Turning SolidCAM

Hello,

I am fairly new to SolidCAM and have been using it to CNC Turn some pieces on my EMCO CNC5 lathe.

I have a 50 odd pieces that i need to turn for a project. They are all similar in size but each one has a different profile. Take a look at the image below to see 3 examples profiles (A, B, C) out of the 50.

Can anyone advise me on the best way to efficiently program this job as I don't really want to set up a new part/file for each part in turn. I'd rather have all the profiles in one file as different sketches or configurations and use the same machining steps and tools for each one in succession.

How should I arrange these profiles, in which file, and how should I call each one up in SolidCAM? Or is there a better way?

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Many thanks,

Chris.

Probably the easiest way would be to generate CAM jobs for each profile and then suppress the ones not required before posting out. Alternatively, you can create geometries for each profile and then select the desired geometry in each of the CAM jobs before posting. Either of these approaches will do the job.

Hey Bob, thanks for your reply.

Sorry to be slow, but what exactly do you mean by CAM job? Do you mean CAM Operation?

I must admit that I'm not really getting to grips with how SolidCAM handles files / configurations etc vs Solidworks (within which I very much understand it!). E.g. where are the Operations stored? In the prt file, or the Assembly file? Also, what is the idea behind having both a design model and a CAM model, which one can I modify, to, for example allow for clamps / jigging?

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Brakeman Bob View Post