586,115 active members*
3,469 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Could someone recommend a setup please for G540?

Could someone recommend a setup please for G540?

I am a complete newbie, and I would like to here your opinions and recommendations for setting up my g540.
    I received my gecko g540 a week ago or so, and I have 57BYGH78-401A motors. They are rated at 2.8A, so I put a 2k7ohm current limit resistor. The motors get too hot IMO, I have measured about 75ºC after a quarter of an hour period of constant operation. Would changing the resistor to 2K reduce the heat? Is it a good idea?
    Keling sold me a 48V 7.8A power supply, they said it was perfect for the g540. I don't know, but isn't it a little tight?
    Another doubt I have is regarding the use of the 4 inputs and two outputs. I want to have homing switches on all 4 axis. So I guess that already uses up four inputs. If I wanted to use limit swithes independent from the home switches, would it be a good idea to have work in serial together with the e-stop?
    At the moment I don't have a proper spindle, I am using a normal hand mini-drill with manual speed control. The only thing I can think of is using one output to activate a relay to turn it on or off, but I can't think of anything to regulate the speed other than manually. Any ideas?
    Is an extra parallel port worth it for extra ins and outs?
    There are so many possibilities that I don't know what is best. I would like to hear your opinions on what setup is better or safer or cheaper or whatever. For your info, I am a hobbyist, not a pro, and I'm just doing this for fun. Thanks!

Stepper motors tend to run hot, most are designed to run up to at least 90C.