586,094 active members*
4,177 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > New G0602 owner with questions

New G0602 owner with questions

Hi guys, I've been reading on here for awhile and decided on getting the G0602 lathe from Grizzly. It seems like a nice machine and the best bang for the buck. I'm suppose to get it Tuesday so I wanted to go ahead and order some tooling so I'll have it by the time I get the lathe set up, cleaned, and broke in.

I'm just wanting the basics to start with and I'm on a limited budget because I'm also saving for a G0704 mill. I have no experience with either machine so I'm looking to you guys for some guidance if you don't mind helping me out.

To start with I don't want to have to worry about shimming tools so I want a QCTP. I was looking at this one. It's a wedge type from Phase 2.

Enco - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Machinery, Tools and Shop Supplies

It doesn't state on the page but looking up the boring bar holder separately it shows it to hold 3/4" shank boring bars. Is this correct?

Here is a list of tools that I'm looking at. Please let me know if I'm heading in the right direction or not. I'm not looking to buy the absolute best and most expensive, I'm just looking for the best bang for the buck. This machine is just for playing around with, not making production parts or anything like that.

Ok, here is my list so far.

12 PC PREMIUM 3/4" SHANK BORING BAR SET CARBIDE TIPPED

12 PC PREMIUM 3/4" SHANK BORING BAR SET CARBIDE TIPPED - eBay (item 120639036925 end time Jan-23-11 19:37:22 PST)

MT3 LIVE CENTER

NEW MT3 LIVE CENTER MORSE TAPER 3 TRIPLE BEARING LATHE - eBay (item 120650186231 end time Jan-19-11 20:30:28 PST)

5PC PREMIUM HSS CENTER DRILL COUNTERSINK SET

5PC PREMIUM HSS CENTER DRILL COUNTERSINK SET COMBINED - eBay (item 120648128331 end time Feb-13-11 18:27:16 PST)

1/2" drill chuck with MT3 tang